Standing Committees

WACRAO Standing Committees are mainly responsible for planning the concurrent sessions for the annual conference and business meeting held in late October or early November each year. They are the organization’s program committee. Each committee has a focus. 

Access, Diversity, and Equity Committee

Focus on issues of diversity and inclusivity with attention to special populations (i.e., low income, minorities, non-traditional, etc.).

  • Melissa Earnest (chair), Dual Credit Specialist, Gateway Technical College, 2026
  • Jaclyn McHugh, Residence Specialist, UW-Madison, 2025
  • Maya Rica Boren, Application Administrator II, UW-Green Bay, 2025
  • Mariana Sanabria, Director of Undergraduate Admissions, Mount Mary University, 2024
  • Arlene Torres, Admission Counselor, UW-Green Bay, 2026
  • Misty Turnquest, Project & Process Analyst, Madison College, 2024

Admissions and Enrollment Management Committee

Focus on undergraduate, graduate, and professional admissions policies, practices, and processing; enrollment management and retention; financial aid and enrollment services; recruitment, college fair etiquette, and marketing; school-college relations; transfer, transcript evaluation, and articulation; and international admission and study abroad programs.  Additionally, this committee will attend to topics related to students’ access to college and initiatives to help ensure equitable treatment and services in higher education.

  • Rachel Aldrich, Functional Analyst-Credit for Prior Learning, Fox Valley Technical College, 2024
  • Lori Christianson (chair), Assistant Director, Transfer, UW-Madison, 2024
  • Genna Mattioli, Admissions Operations & Events Coordinator, UW-Stevens Point, 2025
  • Lindsey Radloff, Transfer Representative, UW-Whitewater, 2026
  • David Toles, Associate Director of Admissions, UW-River Falls, 2026
  • Darren Ward, Associate Director of Admissions, UW-Stout, 2025

External Relations Committee

Focus on compliance, federal and state legislative issues, legislative updates, legal issues.

  • Rhonda Kimmel, Registrar, UW-Parkside, 2025
  • Heather Pearson (chair), International Articulations & Admissions Coordinator, UW-La Crosse, 2025
  • Tony Pietsch, Residency Specialist, UW-Madison, 2024
  • Nicole Toerpe Mason, Law School Registrar, Marquette University, 2026
  • Dan Vande Yacht, Registrar, UW-Green Bay, 2024
  • Julie Waldvogel-Leitner, Director of Enrollment Management, Moraine Park Technical College, 2026

Information Technology and Research Committee

Focus on technology, institutional research.  Conference sessions to include content such as:

  • Data reporting, institutional assessment, retention analysis and predictions
  • Student Information Systems, emerging technologies & best practices
  • Examine business practices and how they relate to the SIS
  • External software solutions
  • Technology as it relates to student recruitment, success, and retention
  • Emilie Bailkey, Campus Solutions Coordinator, Northwood Technical College, 2024
  • Yasi Blackmon, Registrar Systems Analyst, Marquette University, 2026
  • Katie Block (chair), Assistant Registrar for Student Services, UW-Madison, 2026
  • Rachael Daniel, Director, Systems & Data Analysis, UW-Milwaukee, 2025
  • Kelly Higgins, Assistant Registrar for Data, Reporting, and Eligibility, UW-Madison, 2024
  • Vacant

Military Connected Services Committee

The primary task of the Military Connected Services committee is to plan and host the annual Veterans Certifying Official workshop, in conjunction with the Education Liaison Representative for Wisconsin and Wisconsin State Approving Agency.  The committee also serves to inform WACRAO of the issues facing military-connected students and acts as a resource for WACRAO to better assist these students in their academic pursuits.  Because this committee is so involved with training and implementing the regulations surrounding both federal- and state-level benefits for our military-connected students, committee members should have expertise in serving these students.  The committee’s membership should reflect the variety of WACRAO member institutions.

  • Debra Barrett (chair), Associate Registrar & Veteran Certifying Official, Marian University, 2025
  • Jackie Helgeson, Manager of Veteran Services, Western Technical College, 2025
  • Belinda Hull, Center of Excellence for Veteran Student Success (CEVSS) Program Coordinator, Herzing University, 2026
  • Angela Kaye, School Certifying Official, Gateway Technical College, 2026
  • Amy Moore, Veterans Benefits Coordinator/Office Manager, UW-Whitewater, 2024
  • Stephen Pepper, Student Veteran Specialist, Moraine Park Technical College, 2026

Professional Development Committee

The Professional Development committee is all about building the skills and knowledge of our members in the areas of Registration, Recruitment, and Retention.  We want to expand our members’ knowledge base, boost confidence and credibility, and provide networking opportunities.  WACRAO wants to make sure our members are current on industry trends and help in future career changes.

  • Emily Kuhnen (chair), Academic Catalog Coordinator and Scheduling Assistant, UW-Milwaukee, 2024 
  • Kate Kurek, Curricular Outreach Coordinator, UW-Madison, 2026
  • Kristy Sprung, Associate Registrar, UW-Milwaukee, 2026 
  • Isabel Walters, Director of Admissions, UW-Eau Claire, 2025
  • Beth Warner, Deputy Registrar, UW-Madison, 2024
  • Abbie Windsor, Assistant Registrar, UW-Whitewater, 2025

Records, Registration, and Academic Services Committee

Focus on academic progress and support, commencement, graduation, retention, distance education, student academic records, study abroad, academic calendars, grading and GPA policies and practices, and records management and registration techniques.

  • Ryan Bench, Associate Administration Program Specialist, UW-River Falls, 2026
  • Jennifer Bonack (chair), Registrar, UW Oshkosh, 2026
  • Joseph Haferman, Registrar, Nicolet College, 2025
  • Andrew Meyer, Assistant Registrar/Transfer Coordinator, UW-Green Bay, 2024
  • Victoria Rahn, Assistant Registrar, UW-La Crosse, 2024
  • Ritu Sachdev, Associate Registrar, Marquette University, 2025

Other Committees

Local Arrangements Committee – 2023

  • Ellen Clark, UW-Madison

  • Liz Conway, Waukesha County Technical College
  • Rachael Daniel (co-chair), UW-Milwaukee
  • Bridget Derge, UW-Green Bay
  • Melissa Earnest, Gateway Technical College
  • George Henze, Marian University
  • Travis Jansen, Gateway Technical College
  • Kim Jasper, UW-Platteville
  • Genna Mattioni, UW-Stevens Point
  • Andrew Meyer, UW-Green Bay
  • Sean O'Melia, UW-Oshkosh
  • Carrie Parworth, Gateway Technical College
  • Jonelle Przybylski, UW-Stevens Point
  • Ritu Sachdev, Marquette University
  • Rachel Siebers, UW-Stevens Point
  • Erica Spicer, UW-Oshkosh
  • Kristy Sprung (co-chair), UW-Milwaukee
  • Katelyn Strzok, UW-Green Bay
  • Mara Sylvester, UW-Green Bay
  • Naomi Tiefel, Carroll College
  • Isabel Walters, UW-Eau Claire
  • Ashleigh Zarling, Marquette University

Nominations and Awards Committee

  • Alexander Joseph Frain, Associate Registrar, Marquette University
  • Corey Sjoquist, Assistant Vice Chancellor, UW-La Crosse
  • Beth Warner, Deputy Registrar, UW-Madison